Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how the Government and Early Years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.


This is an extremely important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. The early years’ experiences we offer children at Giant Leap ensure they are happy, active, exciting, fun and secure, and support their development, care and learning needs.


As a registered provider of Early Years Care and Education Giant Leap are required to follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. The framework explains how and what your child will be learning and supports Early Years professionals to promote healthy development.


Your child will be learning skills, developing new knowledge and showing their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:


  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development; and
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.


These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.


As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.


At Giant Leap we use these 7 areas to plan your child’s learning and activities. The key people supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary schools but it is suitable for very young children.